Rugged Software

Ton of things going on and I’m still trying to get together a couple of Post-Defcon posts on impressions and the app, but I wanted to start touching something that I plan to talk about at length.

Rugged software is on the rise as hot topic.  As a manifesto, it makes some bold statements.  In practical terms, it’s not seen any traction yet.

Right after DC18, I did some digging to find out more and if you look at the Rugged site, there’s not much. Two interesting pieces do come up and I wanted to make sure they get out to the world.  This first is balanced overview of both sides of the Rugged discussion, as of June 2010:

http://www.infoq.com/news/2010/06/rugged-software-manifesto

The second is a recent piece by Mike Dahn on slogans vs practicality:

http://chaordicmind.com/blog/2010/08/07/empty-slogans-and-their-effectiveness-examples-and-statistics/

My initial impression is nice idea, but needs to be applied before we can understand whether this type of approach is effective.

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (0)

Leave a comment